Expedition

Amazing Qatar

Precious pearls and aromatic coffee, state-of-the-art architecture and social initiatives — the State of Qatar which is to host FIFA World Cup in 2022 impresses your imagination with its splendor and subtle ability to blend ancient traditions with forward-thinking mindset. Within the framework of the Year of Culture Qatar-Russia 2018, Artemy Lebedev and his team set off on a journey to Qatar to see it all with their own eyes. Meanwhile, we are sharing details of their journey with you at project blog.

 

Scroll down
03

Food

Qatari cuisine – with its traditional ingredients being legumes, dates, bread, camel and goat milk, sour yogurt, fish – originates in pre-oil era. Another important ingredient is, of course, lamb which is mostly used here to cook machboos – stewed lamb with rice and spices, and harees – thick stew with cooked wheat. The latter is a bit like the Moroccan Tagine, but unlike in Maghreb, Qataris add no prunes nor honey in it.

Emigrants often change the face of the country, including its gastronomic appearance, and Qatar is no exception. In addition to Arabic cuisine, Indo-Pakistani and Mediterranean cuisines are widely spread, especially the Lebanese version of the latter with its focus on mezze, dolma, hummus, motabbel – eggplant paste with tekhinas, and sambusa – triangular patties with vegetables, meat and cheese.

Layali in Doha has been called the best Lebanese restaurant for many years in a row, and the Saffron Lounge, opened in 2009 by the eminent chef Vineet Bhatia, is considered by many to be the best Indian restaurant. Of course, the gastronomic stars of Qatar can offer the so-called Gulf cuisine, which uses all the products available in the region; pay attention to the excellent restaurant Cuisine by Guy Savoy in Doha.

“In Qatar there are a lot of places with Syrian/Lebanese/Moroccan/Turkish cuisine, which is absolutely delicious regardless the price. There are many chains and pretentious restaurants like Fridays or Nobu,” – shared his impressions Artemy.

Quiz

Myths and facts about Qatar

Start

Экспедиция

Удивительный Катар

Драгоценный жемчуг и ароматный кофе, самая передовая архитектура и социальные инициативы — эмират Катар, который примет чемпионат мира по футболу в 2022 году, поражает своим великолепием и тонким умением сочетать традиции и футуризм. Чтобы увидеть собственными глазами, Артемий Лебедев и его команда отправляются в Катар в рамках Перекрестного года культуры Катара и России-2018. А мы рассказываем вам о ходе путешествия в блоге проекта.

Прокрутите вниз
03

Еда

Кухня Катара берет свое начало в донефтяную эру. Традиционные ингредиенты — бобовые, финики, хлеб, два вида молока — верблюжье и козье, кислый йогурт, рыба. И, конечно, баранина, из которой здесь готовят множество блюд, чаще всего макбус (machboos) — тушеного ягненка с рисом и пряностями, а также харис (harees) — густую похлебку на основе разваренной пшеницы. Последняя немного напоминает марокканский тажин, но катарцы не кладут в нее чернослив и мед, как принято в Магрибе.

Эмигранты нередко меняют облик страны, в том числе гастрономический, и Катар не исключение. Помимо арабской кухни здесь распространены индо-пакистанская и средиземноморская, особенно ее ливанский вариант с упором на холодные закуски мезе (mezze): долму (dolma), хумус (hummus), мутаббаль (motabbel) — пасту из баклажанов с тхиной — и самбусу (sambusa), треугольные пирожки с овощами, мясом и сыром. 

Лучшим ливанским рестораном много лет подряд называют Layali в Дохе, а индийским — столичный Saffron Lounge, открытый в 2009 году именитым шефом Винитом Бхатией. Само собой, гастрономические звезды Катара могут предложить и блюда в стиле так называемой кухни залива, использующей все доступные в регионе продукты, — обратите внимание на прекрасный ресторан Cuisine by Guy Savoy в Дохе.

«В Катаре очень много сирийской/ливанской/марокканской/турецкой кухни, которая за любые деньги вкусная. Очень много сетевых и пафосных ресторанов от Фрайдиса до Нобу», — поделился своими впечатлениями Артемий.

Тест

Мифы и факты о Катаре

Начать