Expedition

Amazing Qatar

Precious pearls and aromatic coffee, state-of-the-art architecture and social initiatives — the State of Qatar which is to host FIFA World Cup in 2022 impresses your imagination with its splendor and subtle ability to blend ancient traditions with forward-thinking mindset. Within the framework of the Year of Culture Qatar-Russia 2018, Artemy Lebedev and his team set off on a journey to Qatar to see it all with their own eyes. Meanwhile, we are sharing details of their journey with you at project blog.

 

Scroll down
03

Art

In recent years Qatar has become the keenest art player in the Middle East: the country has been consistently creating a museum empire, compiling a variety of huge collections of unprecedented value. Qatari ambitions are great and, in addition to traditional and modern Arabic art, apply to the great European masters.

For example in 2012 Al Tani’s royal family acquired Paul Cézanne’s Card Players for $ 250 million, setting a price record ever offered for a work of art; a year later Pablo Picasso’s Child with a Dove was brought to Qatar from London, which had been one of the two UK’s most famous works by the artist.

“I used to be quite skeptical about the achievements of Qatar in the field of contemporary art. But then we saw Damien Hirst’s amazing sculptural composition about the birth of life and the subsequent appearance of this life into the world” – shares his impressions Mr. Lebedev.

Moreover, Qatar is experiencing an obvious rise in museum construction. In 2008 the Museum of Islamic Art was opened in Doha, the Arab Museum in 2009, and the new National Museum is about to open on the southern end of the Corniche embankment. The world’s top architects are invariably assigned for these projects: Doha can already boast buildings by Bei Yumin, Arata Isozaki and Jean Nouvel. Gradually, the museums are filled with top works – in its rush for art, both Eastern and European, Qatar overtook even the Middle Kingdom.

Quiz

Myths and facts about Qatar

Start

Экспедиция

Удивительный Катар

Драгоценный жемчуг и ароматный кофе, самая передовая архитектура и социальные инициативы — эмират Катар, который примет чемпионат мира по футболу в 2022 году, поражает своим великолепием и тонким умением сочетать традиции и футуризм. Чтобы увидеть собственными глазами, Артемий Лебедев и его команда отправляются в Катар в рамках Перекрестного года культуры Катара и России-2018. А мы рассказываем вам о ходе путешествия в блоге проекта.

Прокрутите вниз
03

Искусство

В последние годы Катар называют самым азартным арт-игроком на Ближнем Востоке: страна последовательно создает музейную империю, собирая разнообразные — огромные — коллекции беспрецедентной ценности. Катарские амбиции велики и, помимо традиционного и современного арабского искусства, распространяются на больших европейских мастеров.

В 2012 году, например, королевская семья Аль Тани приобрела картину Поля Сезанна «Игроки в карты» за 250 миллионов долларов, установив рекорд цены, когда-либо предлагавшейся за произведение искусства, а годом позже в Катар из лондонской Национальной галереи переехал «Ребенок с голубем» Пабло Пикассо, одна из двух самых знаменитых работ художника, хранившихся в Великобритании.

 «Я был довольно скептически настроен относительно достижений Катара в области современного искусства. Но потом мы увидели потрясающую скульптурную композицию Дэмиена Херста, посвященную зарождению жизни и последующему появлению этой жизни на свет», — делится своими впечатлениями Лебедев.

Кроме того, Катар переживает очевидный подъем музейного строительства. В 2008 году в Дохе был открыт Музей исламского искусства, в 2009-м — Арабский музей, вот-вот на южном конце набережной Корниш откроется обновленный Национальный музей. Проекты неизменно отдают архитекторам первой величины: в Дохе, например, уже есть здания авторства Бэй Юймина, Араты Исодзаки и Жана Нувеля. Постепенно они заполняются топовыми работами на рынке — в своем интересе к искусству, как восточному, так и европейскому, Катар обогнал даже Поднебесную.

Тест

Мифы и факты о Катаре

Начать